Reading Time: < 1 minute

Wimbledon is the oldest and most famous tennis tournament in the world and it is back for its 2009 installment. It was first played in 1877 and is now in its 132nd year. Wimbledon contains a 128 player tournament field (64 teams for match play) that crowns a champion every year. Wimbledon is one of the four “Grand Slam” tennis tournaments along with the US Open, French Open and Australian Open. It is the only major tennis championship still played on a grass court.

Some Wimbledon fast facts:

  • Rafael Nadal, for the men, and Venus Williams, for the women, are the reigning champions.
  • Pete Samparas and William Renshaw have won a record seven men’s Wimbledon championships.
  • Renshaw holds the record for most consecutive men’s titles in a row with six.
  • Martina Navratilova have won a record nine women’s Wimbledon championships and a record six women’s championships in a row.

Celebrate tennis’ most historic and popular tournament with a Wimbledon t-shirt.

Leave a Reply